All FishesFamilies ⇒ Clariidae

Common member of the family clariidae
Family Common Name Walking Catfish
Distribution Africa & Asia
Common Names Walking Catfish
Size Smallest 31mm, largest 1750mm, average 430mm, most commonly 350mm. All SL.
Species There are 82 species in 16 genera in the database
Hop to next section Subfamilies in Clariidae
1. None 82 species (100%)
Hop to next section Top Five Genera
1. Bathyclarias 7 species (0 keepers)
2. Channallabes 3 species (0 keepers)
3. Clariallabes 8 species (0 keepers)
4. Clarias 36 species (0 keepers)
5. Dinotopterus 2 species (0 keepers)
Hop to next section Distribution of selected species

Log in to view data on a map.
Hop to next section Species List
1. Bathyclarias euryodon (i:0, k:0)
2. Bathyclarias foveolatus (i:4, k:0)
3. Bathyclarias ilesi (i:0, k:0)
4. Bathyclarias longibarbis (i:0, k:0)
5. Bathyclarias nyasensis (i:4, k:0)
6. Bathyclarias rotundifrons (i:0, k:0)
7. Bathyclarias worthingtoni (i:0, k:0)
8. Channallabes apus (i:15, k:0)
9. Channallabes sanghaensis (i:1, k:0)
10. Channallabes sp. (1) (i:5, k:0)
11. Clariallabes centralis (i:1, k:0)
12. Clariallabes heterocephalus (i:1, k:0)
13. Clariallabes laticeps (i:2, k:0)
14. Clariallabes longicauda (i:3, k:0)
15. Clariallabes melas (i:2, k:0)
16. Clariallabes platyprosopos (i:1, k:0)
17. Clariallabes teugelsi (i:1, k:0)
18. Clariallabes variabilis (i:1, k:0)
19. Clarias alluaudi (i:14, k:0)
20. Clarias anfractus (i:1, k:0)
21. Clarias angolensis (i:1, k:0)
22. Clarias anguillaris (i:2, k:0)
23. Clarias batrachus (i:76, k:0)
24. Clarias batu (i:1, k:0)
25. Clarias buettikoferi (i:1, k:0)
26. Clarias buthupogon (i:2, k:0)
27. Clarias camerunensis (i:2, k:0)
28. Clarias cavernicola (i:0, k:0)
29. Clarias dhonti (i:3, k:0)
30. Clarias ebriensis (i:2, k:0)
31. Clarias engelseni (i:3, k:0)
32. Clarias fuscus (i:2, k:0)
33. Clarias gabonensis (i:1, k:0)
34. Clarias gariepinus (i:26, k:0)
35. Clarias gracilentus (i:3, k:0)
36. Clarias insolitus (i:1, k:0)
37. Clarias jaensis (i:1, k:0)
38. Clarias leiacanthus (i:5, k:0)
39. Clarias liocephalus (i:1, k:0)
40. Clarias macrocephalus (i:4, k:0)
41. Clarias magur (i:0, k:0)
42. Clarias meladerma (i:3, k:0)
43. Clarias microspilus (i:0, k:0)
44. Clarias ngamensis (i:2, k:0)
45. Clarias nieuhofii (i:4, k:0)
46. Clarias nigromarmoratus (i:1, k:0)
47. Clarias pachynema (i:3, k:0)
48. Clarias platycephalus (i:3, k:0)
49. Clarias serniosus (i:2, k:0)
50. Clarias stappersii (i:1, k:0)
51. Clarias submarginatus (i:1, k:0)
52. Clarias teijsmanni (i:3, k:0)
53. Clarias theodorae (i:2, k:0)
54. Clarias werneri (i:2, k:0)
55. Dinotopterus cunningtoni (i:1, k:0)
56. Dinotopterus gigas (i:3, k:0)
57. Dolichallabes microphthalmus (i:2, k:0)
58. Encheloclarias baculum (i:0, k:0)
59. Encheloclarias curtisoma (i:4, k:0)
60. Encheloclarias kelioides (i:0, k:0)
61. Encheloclarias medialis (i:2, k:0)
62. Encheloclarias prolatus (i:1, k:0)
63. Encheloclarias tapeinopterus (i:0, k:0)
64. Encheloclarias velatus (i:0, k:0)
65. Gymnallabes nops (i:1, k:0)
66. Gymnallabes typus (i:16, k:0)
67. Heterobranchus bidorsalis (i:1, k:0)
68. Heterobranchus boulengeri (i:1, k:0)
69. Heterobranchus isopterus (i:1, k:0)
70. Heterobranchus longifilis (i:6, k:0)
71. Heterobranchus sp. hybrid (i:2, k:0)
72. Horaglanis abdulkalami (i:0, k:0)
73. Horaglanis alikunhii (i:1, k:0)
74. Horaglanis krishnai (i:0, k:0)
75. Platyallabes tihoni (i:2, k:0)
76. Platyclarias machadoi (i:0, k:0)
77. Pseudotanganikallabes prognatha (i:4, k:0)
78. Tanganikallabes alboperca (i:3, k:0)
79. Tanganikallabes mortiauxi (i:11, k:0)
80. Tanganikallabes stewarti (i:3, k:0)
81. Uegitglanis zammaranoi (i:4, k:0)
82. Xenoclarias holobranchus (i:3, k:0)